Sometimes you need to remove a device or multiple devices from your sites in Datto RMM because you no longer support these devices or perhaps they no longer exist.
- In the Web Portal, click Sites.
- Click the name of the site that contains the device(s) you want to delete.
- Click the Devices tab.
- Select the device(s) you would like to delete.
- Click the Delete device(s) icon from the Action bar.
- In the dialog box, enter the number of devices you wish to delete.
- Click OK.
NOTE If you have the Datto Networking Integration enabled, note that you cannot delete Datto Networking devices from Datto RMM. Refer to Datto Networking Integration.
When a device is deleted, it will be removed from its current site and placed into the Deleted Devices site with a flag set on the database to uninstall the Agent from the device.
You can find the Deleted Devices page by following these steps:
- Click Sites.
- Click Manage Deletions in the top left.
If the device is online at the time of deletion, it will recognize that it has been placed into the Deleted Devices site, and the Agent will be uninstalled from the device automatically.
If the device is offline at the time of deletion, it will remain in the Deleted Devices site, and the Agent will be uninstalled when it next connects to the platform.
If the device is offline when deleted and stays offline for 30 days, it will be purged from the platform before the Agent can be instructed to uninstall itself. If the device then comes back online after 30 days, the Agent will connect to the platform, and it will be added again as a new device.
NOTE If the device is deleted from a site that is then deleted from the platform and the device comes back online after 30 days, the device will be added to the Managed site created by default when you originally set up your platform.
If you delete a device from the Deleted Devices site, it will automatically be re-added to its original site when the Agent connects to the platform again.
NOTE The device's original site may not be the site it was deleted from if the device had been moved to a different site after the Agent installation.
When the device is re-added, its original record will be purged, and it will be treated as a completely new install.